My Dude David Ajala & Need for Speed

 

The talented David Ajala…….

I wanted to use this blog as an opportunity to highlight what one of my Brothas in film is doing as I admire him and his work ethic a hell of a lot. David Ajala first came to my attention when I noticed him briefly in the Batman film “The Dark Knight” during the scene where some street punks brought the joker to one of Gothams Villains known as Gamble played by Michael Jai White. You can see him around the 10 second mark.

79100-27939

His whole demeanor and his body movement just told me “This mans froms ends fam” I don’t care how much acting he does he will never fool me I know my own when I see them lol.  But after watching this scene I then thought “hold up a minute, ain’t that my man from Adulthood who played the police man?”.

I hit up google started looking into it and there he was David Ajala. His role in Adulthood all the way to the film Brotherhood has also been developed well as he started off as a community police officer in Adulthood but now in Brotherhood he seems to be some kind of high ranking officer that takes down career criminals. It may seem small in comparison to the main roles of the other characters in that film franchise but  to me as someone who writes, does character designs for comic books and appreciates development this is quality character development by Noel Clarkes in my opinion. You can almost fill the gaps between films and make a series out of that alone on this one character as I don’t know what kind of journey it would take to go from a community officer to a high ranking officer taking down gangs of London as a Black man in the Metropolitan police but its one I would love to see (Noel Clarke run with it fam).

Later on after the All Knightz hit up a few comic cons we came across David Ajala in person as he has been a supporter of our work ever since and his career seems to of grown even more. I can’t honestly keep up with all the credits this guy has for his acting but he told me the last time I saw him that he was working on a role in the new Need for Speed game but he couldn’t say much about it due to contractual issues so I took the hint and kept my mouth shut as I know how Non Disclosure Agreements work.  Some months later (couple of days ago) I came across this.

Man like David ya na………

I love seeing this kind of thing because the more I get into the entertainment industry the more I realize how many Black people are actually making serious moves and it helps that I am a Need for speed fan (Need for Speed Hot pursuit I am THAT GUY) and have been since the ps2.  I have to admit that gaming is something I rarely get to do as much due to how much animation work I am working on but for this game I am going to make an exception and it’s an excuse for my son to go and buy a ps4 (with his own money cos I ain’t buying the console so I hope ya reading this son).

My other reason for this blog is because he has done a lot more work than I am giving him credit for and this can actually make it easy for people to overlook the timeline and body of work for Black creatives like David Ajala so check him out on instagram so you can keep up with his movements and other great work he has done. He isn’t the only talented Brotha I know who is on stuff so I’ll be blogging about those people too in the coming weeks but for now big ups to David and though your career is going well I hope you become even bigger.

Big ups fam.

Follow me on twitter

instagram

facebook

you tube

and of course www.waynerileyart.com

Leave a comment