Where’s the Ops – LB Brown

LB – actor, producer business man

I grew up in Peckham Queens road during the Peckham vs Ghetto era in the 90s but I managed to stay neutral to all of the street drama between different areas because I was always able to make friends anywhere and in the Peckham and Dulwich area I made friends with LB from playing basketball back in the day. Other people who used to ball with us during that era in the same places was Beano aka Carl Small (RIP), Marvin and Marsha Ambrosius (Floetry) and countless others.

 

LB was one of the people who stuck to balling but was also into rap and progressed on to acting. We lost touch due to just growing up and moving around but I always saw his mixtapes around the place so I knew he was ok but during the time of the Dark Knight film after not seeing him in person for years I saw him at the cinema. No not at the cinema in person I mean seeing him on the damn screen. It is pretty ironic that I am mentioning this film the Dark Knight once again but it comes like that film is like the thundercat symbol bringing the family together. Towards the end of the the film during the boat scene I see this at the 2 minute mark with the shot gun pointed at my friend LB.

 

I’m there in the cinema with my girlfriend and I’m like “THERE’S MY BREDWIN” and she says “Okay Wayne we get it now shush”. It was monumental for me because I know his story so to see him make such progress in acting made me happy for him. Even as an extra this is a good look as I know the hard work it takes. I saw him around town some time after and we reconnected. Still acting doing lots of extras work he told me some of the films he was in and I recall him telling me about him being in the Captain America film too but what I wanted to really highlight in this Blog was his own self produced series he has on you tube called “Wheres the Ops”.

This is a hood drama focusing on some of the road politics that both myself and LB along with countless others have seen in real life and it has a lot of independent actors in it. The series is up to 10 episodes and plays out pretty well in my view and you tend to appreciate the story when you watch the whole thing seeing it progress. I know some of the actors in it too so the networking aspect let me know that this series was going to help a lot of people both on and behind the camera.

 

One of the people who seem to be benefiting from this series is the mc named Fugi who you may remember from the South Side All stars tune by Nikki S and Nyke (YO ITS THE G TO THE IIIIIII) who is now making a big push in Grime music again. Ironically he is actually my favourite character in the series and his music is solid.

 

I know how LB is and he is ambitious, with his own film production company and his experience he is a seasoned actor in my view with a strong entrepreneurial mind set and with him being a Brotha from the same ends as me you know I’m in full support.

I wanna thank LB for this series as it was a nice example of progression and character development as well as an opportunity to give some opportunities to other people from around the way. i’m gonna keep my eyes on his work and make sure I play my part by letting my friends know more the work he does.

Big ups my G.

Follow me on twitter

facebook

instagram

you tube

and www.waynerileyart.com

 

Leave a comment