Broke UK Rappers always want free Art work

Broke rappers and their delusions of grandeur

The post title speaks for itself and while I avoid rant videos and blogs sometimes it works out to be thereputic to get these thoughts out especially when it comes to this topic. I want to point out that it is not just UK rappers that do this but that is who the focus is on in this post.

I get a rapper trying to holla at me to do some kind of work for them pretty much on a weekly basis and usually that’s a good thing but it doesn’t always end up going in any real direction. Don’t get me wrong I have a good relationship with a number of rappers who are serious about what they do and the things they need to finance such as studio time and so on but I tend to attract a lot of rappers who think they can impress me with their reputation assuming that is a passport to get me to do something for free.

broke1

I will be real with you, no rapper in this scene impresses me enough to work for free as I come from the So solid era which means any level of fame and glory they are trying to get to I have already seen or even contributed to in some way. When I talk about rappers I don’t just mean rappers in the UK I mean world wide. I don’t care if you are big time star in America I ain’t dropping my costs.  I won’t name drop or say who I have been associated with because it doesn’t matter but lets just say I’ve seen ya favourite mc when he couldn’t afford to pay for his subs on radio. Repeat that sentence to some of the big mc names you know from ends and some of them are gonna laugh because they know what I mean.

I recently had the management of a known rapper in the states talking to me about an animated music video and once I quoted him the price he melted trying to talk me down and then saying it would be good for my CV. Bun that my CV/resume is good fam and my portfolio is a mazza so no working for “exposure” talk is cutting it with me. These rappers like to talk to me as if they think they are doing me a favour. What really gave me insight though is what he told me his plan was.

The plan was to PAY for 500,000 views on you tube for the video and then to let the number grow organically from there. So basically he wants to give the impression lots of people like this material so the sheep will just buy into it. I guess this strategy works for the short term but long term it just degrades the music scene and makes people focus more on image than the actual craft which is likely why rappers today care more about the camera than the mic but I digress.

That being said I find it worrying at the same time, after being in that industry a while back but leaving it to study at university and coming back I see that a lot has not changed. A lot of artists are broker than before due to the fact that the music they make is free the minute it hits the internet and you are not going to convince me that any rapper signed or unsigned is going to pay back their record label advance or expenses with you tube views and spotify streams.  So the only thing left is to make money from shows but from what I am learning a lot of promoters do not pay these artists the wages they deserve either so the rappers are suffering the same way from people who want their talent but do not want to pay for it.

I personally believe this is just part of the hood culture because a man will sooner pay for an expensive pair of shoes than pay for their studio time therefore that artist won’t see the point in paying me to do the mixtape cover they asked for but they will try and coerce me in to believing their hype and working for free while they pay full price for their Nike boots at Footlocker.

A studio owner will struggle to pay their rent for the studio because rappers do not want to pay up, promoters (I know a good few jack ass promoters) who won’t pay up but put a performers name on the flyer are a big issue within the culture too. It all has a knock on effect to the whole economy which I think contributes to the bitchy attitude some rappers have to each other.

So to get away from the money these guys like to focus on views and followers…………

bruddah, when someone starts using views and followers as a bargaining chip it saddens me because while you have 76k followers I know most of these rappers would struggle to fill a venue with a capacity of 500 and I have seen it with my own eyes.  I am also well aware many artists pay for the followers they have and I know this because I get an email every day from some company saying they can boost my followers on instagram blah blah blah.

I don’t pay for them kind of things, If I wanted more followers all I need to do is post a picture of me in a grey tracksuit while I am at the gym and its a wrap.

I refuse to name names but it kinda leads me to the whole point of this blog. People are so used to working for free that they think they should get everything for free so we pay for the image like we are rich but we do not pay for the services. If I decided I want a rapper to do some voice acting for me (which is gonna happen) I already know to come with some money on stand by as i don’t assume a rapper should work for free but hey that’s just me.

I take all of the art we do seriously which is why I don’t insult peoples craft by trying to get it for free. I also tie this in with the depression some rappers have because sooner or later it has to mentally harm you knowing you have to keep up an appearance of doing well as an artist while you struggle to pay the bills while the camera is off and there is no insta filter for your red letters.

One last point to the rappers out here who road, pay your rent and your plug BEFORE you post the money shot on insta please, I have seen some of the snap chat videos and insta stories of rappers showing their money but these times your mother is in rent arrears with court dates for back dated council tax.

decf7725cc99efeb652c3b87a1d1dbf4--stacks-of-money-magnets

I may revisit this subject again but it is something that bothers me and wanted to address it.

 

Leave a comment